One Word 2023: Engage

This year my one word is #Engage. It didn’t fall into place as easily this year, and it is similar in many way to my #OneWord2022 which was “Amplify”.

I had moderate success with a guiding word last year, so I figure it can’t hurt to try again.

What does #Engage mean for me in 2023? In a nutshell, it encompasses both being interested in others and brave enough to step in and be involved in new things.

  • To be a useful member to the communities that I am part of; to be part of the conversation and engage as an active participant. For example, I’m excited to be part of another group of some of the most noteable Instructional Coaches in North America as we work on crowd sourcing an Instructional Coach Playbook. Lots of folks sign up to be involved in these initiatives, but never show up to do the work or discuss in the Zoom conversations. Coming to the table in these spaces can make a difference in all sorts of future opportunities.
  • To reply to and comment on posts with my Twitter PLN and the schools that I support via Facebook; it’s amazing how much this “engagement” can open up opportunities. I think that’s how I ended up hosting a Google Certified Coach bookstudy last spring with @TeamFrances28 from the UK, and Kim Brown @library_nrhs from Massachusetts.
  • To make a point of checking in and saying “Hi” to as many teachers and leaders as possible when I am at one of our schools in my role as District Instructional Lead. This is one of the most lucrative ways to connect with instructional coaching opportunities! My “Hi”, is usually responded to with, “Hey, I’ve been meaning to email you about….”
  • To be brave enough to promote the work that I am doing and the resources that I am making. The tough part here is that my Twitter friends and colleagues produce and share such great work (@EmmaCottier @MrsHowell24 @gret etc) that I wonder, “Why bother?” But then again, if the materials (videos, blog posts, choiceboards, etc) aren’t useful they’ll just get passed over – no harm done.
  • If Google Innovator applications open up for North Americans, to engage in the process and put in the work to apply!
  • To engage more directly with the UN Sustainable Development Goals. So few of the teachers in my district know about the SDGs – I feel that this is a personal failure so far. As a Social Studies teacher this was such an important topic for me, but I’ve not promoted them very well as a Coach.

If you are reading this, I would love for you to share your #oneword in the comments!

5 thoughts on “One Word 2023: Engage

  1. Is it too late to ponder a #oneword2023 for myself? You inspire me in so many ways! Thank you for being an exceptional role model to our teachers colleagues and to me in my new coaching position. I look forward to many more engaging conversations and activities with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My 2023 in Review | What I learned today...

No really...leave a reply! Cammie would love to hear what you think.