Trying Something New: ISTE Certification

This month, May 2023, I officially begin ISTE Certification.

When I first considered attaining ISTE Certification, one could only attend in-person training. These 2-3 day trainings were hosted in about 6 American cities throughout the year. I had my sights set on a Portland, Oregon training in the fall of 2019, but for various reasons, that didn’t happen.

Since then, I have followed several ISTE friends and acquaintances on Twitter and in conversation as they have worked toward their own ISTE certification. There is a common thread among their experiences: it is a lot of work. Perhaps that is the biggest reason that I have been hesitant.

This year, however, the stars seem to be aligning:

  • I have coaching colleagues in my district to share the workload – I am no longer the lone coach.
  • Several ISTE Community Leader colleagues have recently completed their ISTE Certification – they’ve encouraged me to take the plunge.
  • A Canadian organization TakingITGlobal is offering free ISTE Certification to a cohort of 30 Canadians. The going rate for online ISTE Certification is about $825 USD – that’s currently over $1100 CDN. Thus, it seemed to make sense to go ahead and apply to the cohort — and I got in.

And so, here we go! I will join approximately 1800 in 56 countries who are ISTE Certified, or in progress.

Phase 1 is approximately 14 weeks long and consists of five 2-hour synchronous sessions and an additional 30-50 hours of asynchronous work. This will take me until the end of August to complete.

Phase 2 is a rigorous “portfolio” phase where I will have to curate evidence from my practice as an educator to align to 24 criteria in the ISTE Educator Standards. This is a 6-month phase that should end in February 2024.

So as I stand on the threshold, I’m feeling about like this:

  • 10 % excited
  • 70 % “buckle up and prepare for a challenge”
  • 20 % fear and trepidation

Advice from ISTE certified friends has been consistent:

  1. Don’t procrastinate on the portfolio
  2. Regularly attend “Office hours” for portfolio feedback
  3. It’s lots of work, but worth it

Wish me luck as I try something new.

2 thoughts on “Trying Something New: ISTE Certification

  1. Hello! I just completed the 14 week process. Was it what you expected?
    I did well and I was able to earn the 8 points from the final project submission to apply towards the final portfolio submission. However, I feel like I was not as aware of what I should expect. Any additional recommendations you have now that you have completed the process?

    Like

    • Hi. You were luckier that me because you could earn the 8 points! I think that started with July 2023 cohorts…. I started in May and had to submit all 24 criteria in my portfolio. I just pressed submit 2 weeks ago so I’m waiting.
      I have lots of friends who have previously done their ISTE cert and they all said it was a LOT of work, so I was mostly prepared.
      The portfolio process is a LOT of work. Recommendations:
      1. I would recommend that you sign up at office hours to have your portfolio items reviewed. I often thought that I was really on track with a criteria… and it turned out I needed to do some fixing. Sometimes minor additions or clarifications, but sometimes for significant edits.
      2. Start early – don’t leave the work to the end. It will be overwhelming. Lots of folks from my cohort waited to do the work and some just gave up.
      Good luck!

      Like

No really...leave a reply! Cammie would love to hear what you think.