Tech Tip – Deleting a Class in Google Classroom

If you are like many teachers, you have a few ‘junk’ Classes from when you were first learning and experimenting with Google Classroom. Or perhaps you just have classes you no longer need.  And if you are one of those teachers who like to have a neat and orderly Google universe, you’ve tried to delete those classes, only to find that you can only seem to Archive them.

Deleting Class in Google ClassroomFortunately, there is now a way to delete those unwanted classes.  Click here for video instructions.

  1. You start with the thumbnail of the class you want to delete and, using the 3 vertical dots in the top right, you first must choose “Archive”.
  2. Next, click the 3 vertical ‘hotdogs’ in the top left of Classroom screen, and on the pop-up panel, scroll all the way down and click “Archived Classes”.
  3. On the thumbnail that you just archived, click the 3 vertical dots again, and this time you will be able to “Delete” the class permanently.

Some reminders:

  • Any class assignments or student assignments that were created in that class will still exist in the “Classroom” folder in Google Drive. If you also wanted to delete those, you would have to go to the “Classroom” in Google Drive and delete the folder that had the same name as the class you just deleted.  (If you’ve learned about Google Classroom from me, I would have had you make that folder a colour, and had you label that folder “Google Classroom -Don’t Save Here”).
  • If you have thumbnails of classes that you have joined as a student, click the 3 vertical dots in the top right corner and select “Unenroll”.  Students cannot, of course, delete a class.

Click here for video instructions.

Advertisements