Trying Something New: Switching from Kidblog to Edublogs

About 3 years ago when I first started blogging with my grade 10 English and Social classes, I investigated both the Kidblog and Edublog platforms, and at the time chose Kidblog. One of the reasons was that I could have classes for free, which Edublogs didn’t really offer. The “free” world of Kidblog only lasted so long, and for the past 2 years I’ve paid to run classes on my Kidblog img_1891site. Despite having a paid version of the site, I’ve been more and more frustrated with changes and “improvements” to its platform.

Edublogs

So now our school has chosen Edublogs as a digital platform. I do think it is the perfect platform for our vision of digital portfolios that have a learning/reflecting side and a showcase side. Nonetheless, this will require some steep learning for me as I share the lead on figuring out how to add student sites to a “classroom” blog.

There will be some questions: Can I connect 2 or more classes at a time to my teacher blog? Will it be easy to add students before they have created their “sites” officially in Information Processing class? Will students’ blogging in my class ahead of time make it easier or more difficult when they get to Info Pro?

Hopefully I will be able to do some testing over the summer so I can answer some of these questions before game day!

No really...leave a reply! Cammie would love to hear what you think.

