EdPuzzle website …trying something new

EdPuzzle. Check it out for your flipped classroom videos!

EdPuzzle. Check it out for your flipped classroom videos!

Today in my college Ed Tech course, I finally had a chance to test run the website EDpuzzle.  I came across this website on Twitter when EDpuzzle started following me, and as a result, I checked out their product.  I’d say this site is still in its start-up phase, but it has lots of potential, especially in the world of “flipped classrooms”.  Basically, the website allows you to personalize any video from the web by shortening it, adding voice-over content, and embedding comments or quiz questions.

Earlier in the semester, I had hoped to try it out with a grade 10 video on globalization, but it just wasn’t quite the right assignment.  This week, I came up with a solid place for a trial.

While tweaking my “movies in education” lesson for pre-service teachers, I modelled the use of EDpuzzle by shortening and adding project-related comments to an iMovie tutorial.  The video that I personalized could be reached by a URL, and did not require log-in to view….all excellent features.  When my inserted comment points were reached, the video actually stops and shows the comments in a speech bubble to the right of the video.  Students must then choose ‘continue’ or ‘ replay’ in order to finish with the video.  I imagine that some students will find this annoying, but as a teacher, I love that I can have students get my explanations or reminders at the relevant point in the content.

I haven’t yet tried the most intriguing aspect of this product.  If you create a Class and have students login and launch their video watching from the website, it will track their views.  Did they watch the whole thing? Did they review certain parts? And while logged in, they can then also do video quizzes WHILE they watch the video. Like the comments feature, the video stops, presents the questions (multiple choice or short answer) and students must answer the quiz before they can continue.  This will allow students to go at their own pace and re-watch as necessary.  Think of the value of this for flipped classrooms or virtual/online course work!

I haven’t done any test runs with this quiz feature, but I am quite excited to try it, and I’m sure I will be compelled to discuss my experience here!  (Click here, and you might be able to try an interactive video quiz that I eventually created.)

EDpuzzle is new and growing.  One of the downfalls is that you can only clip or shorten content from the beginning or end of a video.  The video tutorial that I was using about iMovie had some content from the middle portions that wasn’t as relevant to the class project.  I couldn’t figure out how to clip this middle content, so I “asked” EDpuzzle if this was even possible. Turns out, the answer is “not yet”, according to the Co-Founder who responded by email to my query.  This is evidence of a being a new ed start-up — when the Co-Founder is answering client emails!  It will be interesting to see how EDpuzzle changes as it grows.

EDTS 325 students, if you are reading this, I would be very interested in your take on the EDpuzzle experience in the comment section way below.

13 thoughts on “EdPuzzle website …trying something new

  1. Hi Cammie,
    I am really glad that I took the time to read your blog after we did the EDpuzzle in class. I thought it was a neat feature to add comments to the video that would help to explain things and I found it useful when we watched the video you made. I had no idea that you could create a class Edpuzzle and track what students watched. I feel this aspects would make the resource very suitable to flipped classrooms because a teacher would know which students are actually doing their homework! Even though I have no experience working with this site myself (yet), I think it would make a great teacher resource!
    Thank you for sharing,
    Emily

    • I’m glad you found it useful, Emily.
      After our EDTS class I created a video with a QUIZ embedded. So cool, but it wouldn’t load on the wifi at our school, so I haven’t really been able to test it with a group of students.
      Cammie

    • Thanks for commenting, Melissa. I appreciate your thoughts on its usefulness in the college setting.
      After our EDTS class I created a video with a QUIZ embedded. So cool, but it wouldn’t load on the wifi at our school, so I haven’t really been able to test it with a group of students.
      Cammie

  2. Good afternoon Cammie,
    What a wonderful blog this really shows the struggles of trying to fit educational technology to projects in the classroom. It is wonderful when you can finally use the technology for an assignment and have it work really well! As per our educational technology class, I found Edpuzzle was useful as it had comments to explain points further in the video and the added feature of tracking what your students watch is amazing. Then you can see if students are using the material you provide or if they are not, which makes it easier in a flipped classroom setting. This is a huge assets for teachers because then know who has watched and who has not. It is also really helpful for college classes as professors cannot teach all the necessary material in once class, so added videos to show at home to answer questions students may encounter on their assignment’s is incredible. I am going to have to look into this cite, very useful resource!!
    Thanks!
    Melissa B.

  3. Ed puzzle seems like a very handy tool for teachers and students. Teachers are able to customize their lessons and videos. It would be perfect for say part of a movie that they want to use for their lesson. In addition, the voiceover would be beneficial for explanations. Moreover, Teachers can track whether students have watched full videos or haven’t watched them at all. Finally, I think it would help teachers organize their lessons as well. They would not have to carry a bunch of quizzes and all the photocopying would be reduced as well. Students would probably love this technology. Most students like technology and most students have a mobile device so this would be convenient for them. Also I think many students would love this technology because its fun and engaging. That is a key to education, FUN!!!

  4. Hi Cammie,
    I am definitely going to look into this Edpuzzle! I can see the benefits as a teacher in the event a very instructional video could be perfect for the lesson; however, there may be developmentally inappropriate material. As a teacher, I can “dub” as a voice-over certain sections deemed developmentally inappropriate for the age I am teaching.

    Assessment would be another great tool for this program to tap into multiple intelligences. For example, if a child is auditory learner, he/she would benefit from hearing the exam versus reading it and attempting to process the questions as a visual learner.

    I do agree with everyone else regarding flipped classrooms and how this tool would be excellent for them. The freedom students have is highly beneficial and of course still comes with accountability because of the ability to see who has viewed the video, as well as for how long. Student “tricks” could not be manipulated in that sense.

    I will be looking more into this cool program!

    Thanks for posting this Cammie,

    Gary M.

  5. Hi Cammie!

    I am definitely going to look further into this Edpuzzle! I can see the benefits of Edpuzzle being highly beneficial for Multiple Intelligences. Some students learn through auditory learning; therefore, teachers being able to create assessments via video versus paper tests would be excellent for them.

    Also, this tool would be great for accommodating age inappropriate material. Though parts cannot be omitted throughout the video (only the beginning and end), teacher’s can “dub” over the material and create their own instruction if it still applies to the lesson.

    I also agree with everyone else’s comments regarding the flipped classroom. This is a great way to approach student accountability because if the student knows their progress is being monitored, they will certainly be inclined to apply more effort.

    Thank you for sharing your blog Cammie, I like your insights!

    Gary M.

  6. The EdPuzzle tool seems to work really well as a tracking tool to assess student completion. The ability to link a quiz could be used to require students to process and express their understanding of material delivered by video. There is a lot of educational potential in EdPuzzle. I might add a screen capture to my blog just to remind myself to explore it further if we aren’t going to work with it in class.

  7. Hi Cammie,
    Like most of my colleagues I agree that the Edpuzzle is an effective tool in the toolbox of a teacher. I liked the fact that it increases the engagement of a video in class, by allowing the teacher to highlight the important points of a video with seamless questions inserted into the file. these question and the fact the students must stop to answer them creates the added engagement that might be required for a video presentation. a second feasture that i Like was the ease of use. little training was required to produce a quality product.The additional audio note may also prove to be effective in the case that a sub is using the video, it may add clarity to the process. Thanks for sharing this with us.
    Wade Carrier

    • Thanks, Wade.
      Just yesterday I finally successfully used Edpuzzle with my high school English classes. I had tried previously but the Wi-Fi would not support the program running on so many devices at one time. My students were split about 50-50, between preferring Edpuzzle and the previous method I was using which involved a program called Socrative. The students who preferred Edpuzzle like the fact that they could repeat the video clip as many times as they needed.
      The teacher diagnostics on Edpuzzle are pretty incredible, so that makes,it very teacher friendly.
      I appreciate your feedback.
      Cammie

  8. Hi Cammie,
    Like most of my colleagues I agree that the Edpuzzle is an effective tool in the toolbox of a teacher. I liked the fact that it increases the engagement of a video in class, by allowing the teacher to highlight the important points of a video with seamless questions inserted into the file. these question and the fact the students must stop to answer them creates the added engagement that might be required for a video presentation. a second feasture that i Like was the ease of use. little training was required to produce a quality product.The additional audio note may also prove to be effective in the case that a sub is using the video, it may add clarity to the process. Thanks for sharing this with us.
    Wade Carrier

  9. Hi Cammie,
    I found EDpuzzle to be a great way of testing student’s knowledge of a topic or issue in the classroom. I believe it can be used in many ways to introduce topics or have students show their undrrstanding by editing a video with it.

No really...leave a reply! Cammie would love to hear what you think.

